Best Approach To Take In Regards To Updates Integration, Suggestions?

Enigma83

I'm relatively new to using softwares like WinToolkit for integrating updates into ISOs. I've used it a few times already and it has worked fine. I'm also exclusively using WHDownloader to download updates. But I have noticed that some people take different approaches to integration. Some will try to integrate every update every released for a particular version of Windows (Vista, 7, 8/8.1, etc.), even if they dont really need them all. And in the case of me using WTK to integrate updates into 7 awhile back, that amounted to hundreds of updates. Even after that, checking Windows Update would show updates that I had already integrated. Not many, but a few.

Some others take the approach of only integrating enough updates to satisfy Windows Update, and nothing more. In my case I see that as the safest and least confusing and time consuming way. But I'm not sure. I've also heard tell of people using repos and such to get updates, which are basically just vast update collections.

I'm new to this site, and install Windows often. The thing I hate most is having to reinstall updates every time I do a clean install. I grew to hate that with a passion back in the Vista days, so many problem and updates that would start to install and then fail, etc. And then a friend told me about WTK and how it potentially can reduce the number of updates needed post-install, so I checked it out. I feel that integrating every update ever released for an particular Windows version is a waste of time and disk space. But it is certainly the most exhaustive and comprehensive approach for those who like to stay updated to the fullest. And it does have its' merits, in a way.