AIO Tool - Apply unattended

Etz

In WinToolkit 1.4.38.5 AIO tool, apply Unattended (Quick option), XML is not copied into DVD root its copied into Sources folder instead.

Also broken in latest Stable 1.4.37.20, worked fine on older versions.

For sucessful USB install it must be in Installer root for UEFI install to suceed unattended, currently Setup will still prompt all the options.

EDIT: Tested DVD install also, doesnt work. Copying Autounattended.xml "manually" back from sources folder to root (where it actually should be) helps.

Edited by Etz

Well I have a MSDN subscription and definately it doesnt work on Images that are available from there.

Tested Mostly on Windows 8(.1) Images, will try Windows 7 Image aswell, but so far it has always been working when XML is put into ther root if install media, so there is absolutely no need whatsoever to put it into sources folder.

And it has it has been working this way from the launch for Windows Vista, so why try to fix and reimplement something that is not broken?

Also, places where Setup will actually look (and in what Stage) for XML is described here:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc749415%28v=ws.10%29.aspx

for me only there it's working

Apparently there is something wrong with your image then, from where did you acquire it?

EDIT: Did a quick test on Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64 Image aswell, same result, works when XML is in root, does not work if its in sources folder.

Image which I tested is this: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/subscriptions/downloads/#FileId=46948

Edited by Etz

Well, as I dont have any particular issues with RunOnce at the moment but with applying Unattended with winToolkit, I dont think it will help in this case... :doh:

Edited by Etz

Yeah, seems like Unattended Creator is affected by this Bug and also WIM Manager has it aswell,

but this is wrong location, it doesnt work if it is in sources folder, at least for USB Flash or DVD based Installs.