Jump to content


Photo

Repack installer request?


  • Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#21 Mr_Smartepants

Mr_Smartepants

    DriverPacks.net Administrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Cambridgeshire
  • OS:Windows 7

Posted 28 July 2012 - 02:40 PM

I use the following batch file to take care of it. Works fine for me.
:Security-Essentials
ECHO>>"%LOGFILE%" ......................
ECHO Installing Microsoft Security Essentials & ECHO>>"%LOGFILE%" 2>>&1 Installing Microsoft Security Essentials
IF "%ARCH%"=="64" ( 
%CDROM%\updates\MSSE\mseinstall-amd64fre-en-us.exe /s /q /o /runwgacheck >>"%LOGFILE%" 2>>&1
%CDROM%\updates\MSSE\mpam-fex64.exe -Q >>"%LOGFILE%" 2>>&1
  ) ELSE ( 
    %CDROM%\updates\MSSE\mseinstall-en-us-x86.exe /s /q /o /runwgacheck >>"%LOGFILE%" 2>>&1
    %CDROM%\updates\MSSE\mpam-fe.exe -Q >>"%LOGFILE%" 2>>&1
)

:Defender-Definitions
ECHO>>"%LOGFILE%" ......................
ECHO Installing Windows Defender Definition updates & ECHO>>"%LOGFILE%" 2>>&1 Installing Windows Defender Definition updates
IF "%ARCH%"=="64" ( 
%CDROM%\updates\WinDefUpdate\mpas-fex64.exe -Q >>"%LOGFILE%" 2>>&1
  ) ELSE ( 
    %CDROM%\updates\WinDefUpdate\mpas-fe.exe -Q >>"%LOGFILE%" 2>>&1
)


#22 ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned

  • Global Mods
  • 8,577 posts
  • Location:La Ceiba
  • OS:Windows 8 x64

Posted 28 July 2012 - 02:45 PM

7zip sfx much better for detecting arch and do conditional install (I added a installer to my previous post, please test it out)

#23 Mr_Smartepants

Mr_Smartepants

    DriverPacks.net Administrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Cambridgeshire
  • OS:Windows 7

Posted 28 July 2012 - 06:29 PM

I have a clean install of Win7 x64 installing in VM now. I'll try it when it's done and report back.

#24 Mr_Smartepants

Mr_Smartepants

    DriverPacks.net Administrator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 814 posts
  • Location:Cambridgeshire
  • OS:Windows 7

Posted 29 July 2012 - 07:21 AM

OK, I tried it in VM on both 32 & 64 bit Win7 and your repack works fine. When using /ai there is zero feedback on install process (truly silent). Is there a different switch that provides a progress bar and updated definitions?

#25 ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned

  • Global Mods
  • 8,577 posts
  • Location:La Ceiba
  • OS:Windows 8 x64

Posted 29 July 2012 - 02:37 PM

What kinda progress bar would you like?

Are you talking about a wizard type thing like .net4?

For the time being you can override/enable the "extraction" progress bar by adding /gmX

Display Mode Unpack Where X:

  • 0 - Normal Mode - Native Mode 7-Zip Archiver, I.E. With Buttons "Cancel" And "Close" (Which In The UpperRight Corner)
  • 1 - Display The Process Of Unpacking But Hide The "Cancel", Button To Block The Close "Button" (Which Is In The Upper Right Corner Of The Window) And Press Esc Key On Your Keyboard
  • 2 - Do Not Display The Extraction Dialog Completely (ie "quiet" Mode)


MsSecEs.exe /ai /gm0

For setup install progress IDK what the cmdline is for that, maybe change /q to /passive in my config.txt

#26 Adrian Luca

Adrian Luca

    Lurker

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 24 August 2012 - 10:16 PM

please make repack of the last DirectX 9.29.1974 (x86-x64) aio with Managed Code

Edited by Adrian Luca, 24 August 2012 - 11:55 PM.


#27 ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned

  • Global Mods
  • 8,577 posts
  • Location:La Ceiba
  • OS:Windows 8 x64

Posted 25 August 2012 - 09:29 AM

That would be redundant, there is nothing that can be removed or improved

#28 RicaNeaga

RicaNeaga

    Wincert Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 838 posts
  • OS:Windows 7

Posted 09 September 2012 - 06:18 PM

I was a happy user of WinCDEmu for a very long time, but lately it made me very itchy - way too many issues, so I went back to Virtual Clonedrive, which I ''left'' because it didn't have .nrg cd-audio support. However, with other complementary tools like ImgBurn, this is really a non-issue.

So, if you could make a custom installer out of this, I would be very grateful. Please remove the default desktop icon, also associate with all supported extensions (.ccd, .dvd, .iso, .img, .udf, .bin, and also .nrg - it's ok with video or data .nrg files, only audio .nrg audio cd's are the problem), and also make sure the unneeded options ''keep history of recently mounted images'' and ''show icon tray'' options aren't selected/pre-ticked by default.

I know it's my second request after Quicktime, but both aren't apps that receive alot of updates, so hopefully if you'll have the time to make these you won't spend much more updating them. :)
  • zoulou99 likes this

#29 Lester Carballo

Lester Carballo

    Lurker

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64

Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:26 AM

Hi, this is not really a repackaging, but I think it is extremely important. When you make a Windows 8 AIO(x86 + x64), the sources. Net Frameworks , bring in the source folder sources\ssx to install netfx3. The netfx3 sources are the 32-bit version for Windows 8 32-bit and 64-bit to 64-bit version of the installer. These sources are used to install Net Frameworks from terminal like:

dism / online / enable-feature / featurename: NetFX3 / All / source: X \ source \ ssx / LimitAccess

You can mix the contents of the images (*.wim) of 32 and 64 bits, but not the installation "sources" of netfx3.
Could you create a merge of .Net x86 and x64 in the same folder and not repeat the same files compared bit a bit?
I programmed a script to know what are those files that are different, but they are in the same location on both architectures, however today brings running and still gives no results. May be useful I leave here.

echo off
SETLOCAL ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION
cls
echo Mezclando los fuentes de netfx3 de %1 con %2 y guardandolas en %3

set soureFolder=%1
set resulFolder=%2
set newStFolder=%3
set countS=0
call:CountString %2
set countSource=%countS%
echo CountSource %countSource%
cd /D%2

for /D /R %%f in (".") do (
set currFolder=%%f
set "currFolder=!currFolder:~0,-4!"
echo Current !currFolder!
set countS=0
call:CountString !currFolder!
set /a countS=!countSource!-!countS!
set "currFolder=!currFolder:~%countSource%,%countS%!"
set soureFolder=%1!currFolder!
set resulFolder=%2!currFolder!
set newStFolder=%3!currFolder!
echo SoureFolder !soureFolder!
echo ResulFolder !resulFolder!
echo NewStFolder !newStFolder!
call:MergeFiles !soureFolder! !resulFolder! !newStFolder!
cd %%f
)

echo.&pause&goto:eof


::--------------------------------------------------------
::-- Function section starts below here
::--------------------------------------------------------

:CountString
set string=%~1
set count=0

:loopCountString
if "!string!" EQU "" goto endloopCountString
set /a count=!count!+1
set "string=%string:~0,-1%"
goto loopCountString

:endloopCountString
set countS=!count!
goto:eof


:MergeFiles
cd /D%~1
for %%f in (*.*) do (
if NOT "%%f"=="install.wim" call:copyFileMerge %%f, %~1, %~2, %~3
)
goto:eof

:copyFileMerge
if EXIST "%~3\%~1" (
echo Buscando coencidencias para el archivo %~1. Puede demorar....
for /f "tokens=*" %%a in ('fc /A "%~2\%~1" "%~3\%~1"') do (
set "v=%%a"
)
set var=!v:~4,2!
if "!var!" EQU "no" (
echo Los archivos %~1 de ambos origenes coenciden.
echo 0 archivos copiados.
) else (
echo Los archivos %~1 de ambos origenes no coenciden.
if NOT EXIST "%~4" md "%~4"
copy "%~2\%~1" "%~4\%~1"
)

) else (
echo El archivo %~1 no se encuentra en uno de los origenes.
if NOT EXIST "%~4" md "%~4"
copy "%~2\%~1" "%~4\%~1"
)
goto:eof

Example to run:
./extractDiferenteFile.bat D:\Windows-8-All-Update\Origin-IAO D:\Windows-8-All-Update\Win-EnterPrise-X64 D:\Windows-8-All-Update\MergeTest

thks.

#30 dotfusion

dotfusion

    WinCert Pro

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Posted 23 December 2012 - 04:53 PM

@Ricktendo64

 

How did your Microsoft Security Essentials project work out? I wanted to have a look at your installer, however it appears the links are now dead. Cheers and Regards.

 

Yea, I was totally trying to do a mst that would allow me to install directly via msi and also copy the updated definitions automatically but I failed (you can see my attempt here)

As for a "repack" that is silent you could not use the SFXCAB.exe because the options are very limited (you can only point to the exe you cant add switches,) it would have to be done with 7zip sfx but I think I could also add a switch that would automatically install the program depending on arch and could also install the updated definitions if you put it in the same dir as the 7zip installer

I'm thinking something like this



;!@Install@!UTF-8!
GUIMode="2"
RunProgram="%%P\\setup /s /runwgacheck /o"
;Use /ai to install definition updates (in same dir as installer) automatically
AutoInstall="%%P\\setup /s /runwgacheck /o"
AutoInstall="x86:\"%%S\\mpam-fe\" /q"
AutoInstall="x64:\"%%S\\mpam-fe%%P\" /q"
;!@InstallEnd@!

Edit: Here it is in case anybody wants to test it

http://adf.ly/1713566/msseces
MD5: aef9b6c1953657a8f4690ad49632ee2a
Size: 11.3 MB

Download the definition updates (to be used with /ai) from KB971606


#31 ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned

  • Global Mods
  • 8,577 posts
  • Location:La Ceiba
  • OS:Windows 8 x64

Posted 23 December 2012 - 05:52 PM

Try the link aggain

It will install the definition updates if they are present in the same dir as the installer

I think I will update it and release it

#32 dotfusion

dotfusion

    WinCert Pro

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Posted 23 December 2012 - 07:13 PM

Thanks Rick. Interesting Installer.

Edited by dotfusion, 23 December 2012 - 07:40 PM.


#33 ..FLaky..

..FLaky..

    Lurker

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:10 PM

How to NSIS package unpack and setup scrip find ? 



#34 ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned

  • Global Mods
  • 8,577 posts
  • Location:La Ceiba
  • OS:Windows 8 x64

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:27 PM

As far as I know NSIS extraction only gives you the files, no script to rebuild



#35 TheAslan

TheAslan

    Lurker

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Posted 20 January 2013 - 03:16 PM

I don't have a request, but I would like to know which is the best way to extract iTunes installation files, I wanna create a custom iTunes installer and lite version of course, I wanna make its installer much smaller.

 

What do you recommend?

 

What really is the best way to extract .exe or .msi files to archives and then re-compile them to .exe or .msi files.



#36 ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned

  • Global Mods
  • 8,577 posts
  • Location:La Ceiba
  • OS:Windows 8 x64

Posted 21 January 2013 - 05:18 PM

Well I gave iTunes a shot and was not able to slim it down much

 

- Extracted iTunes setup (7zip can do it)

- Edited AppleApplicationSupport.msi and AppleMobileDeviceSupport64.msi to remove vc runtimes

- Created admin install of both installers above (universal extractor can do this)

- Used InstEd to rebuild them (right click the CAB in the Media table and choose Rebuild)

- Recompressed *.msi and setupadmin.exe with cabarc using LZX:21 (the default installer cab is LZX:15)

 

Open cmd prompt and run this

 

cabarc -m LZX:21 -p -r N ..\iTunes.cab *.*

- Used a resource editor like Resource Hacker to update RCData\CABINET resource of the installer with iTunes.cab

 

Did not even slim by 1MB, and when I repack the installer doesnt run properly



#37 TheAslan

TheAslan

    Lurker

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Posted 10 February 2013 - 02:52 PM

How about 3DMark11? Advanced or Professional version.

 

http://www.3dmark.com/3dmark11/



#38 Forseti

Forseti

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Posted 02 April 2013 - 09:55 AM

Hello Ricardo,


Can you make a repack installer "LightScribe System Software"  contains old VC runtimes, etc.?  please.gif

 

Homepage

 

LightScribe System Software 1.18.27.10



#39 bphlpt

bphlpt

    WinCert Dominator

  • Global Mods
  • 1,168 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Posted 02 April 2013 - 04:08 PM

Keep the runtimes separate.  Rick already has a great installer for all of them.  No sense in adding them to all the other various installers that need them.

 

Cheers and Regards



#40 ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned

  • Global Mods
  • 8,577 posts
  • Location:La Ceiba
  • OS:Windows 8 x64

Posted 02 April 2013 - 05:21 PM

Thats what hes asking, for me to remove the old runtimes from the installer

I think I will definitely do/maintain this one




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users